NCA Benefit Clinics

Buffalo Gap, SD May 23, 2015


on account of weather

There will be an NCA benefit clinic May 23 in Buffalo Gap, SD. The clinic is being hosted by Tom and Lester Conger and is being held in conjunction with the Conger/Petty Ranch Cattledog Trial (May 24-25).

The clinicians will be Juan Reyes and Tim Gifford.

Entry Form

2015 NCA National Finals

June 10-14, 2015
Steamboat Springs, CO

(Click here)

2015 National Finals Schedule

New NCA Qualifying Year Begins

Qualifying year for 2016 National Finals:
April 1, 2015 - March 31, 2016

Nursery Dogs: Dogs eligible to compete in sanctioned Nursery trials during the 2015-2016 qualifying year must have been born after October 1, 2012.

Points: At their March 11, 2015 meeting the NCA Board of Directors voted to award NCA points to the top 30% of dogs in all NCA sanctioned classes. Class winning dogs will receive 30 points for each dog in the class.

Intermediate move-up: At their April 8, 2015 meeting the NCA Board of Directors voted to rescind an earlier motion and to again require the top 2 point earning handlers to move from Intermediate to Open (effective with the 2015-2016 qualifying year). The requirement that the Champion and Reserve at the National Finals also move up has not changed.

Number of sanctioned classes per day: At their April 8, 2015 meeting the NCA Board of Directors decided to allow sanctioning of no more than 2 classes of a single type (Open, Nursery or Intermediate) on a single day at a given trial.

Number of dogs per handler in a sanctioned class: At their April 8, 2015 meeting the NCA Board of Directors resolved that: A handler may enter as many dogs in an NCA sanctioned class as is allowed by the local trial host. However, only the top four (4) placing dogs in the class will be listed in the NCA posting of results and will count toward the number of NCA points available in the class.

For example, if in a sanctioned class there are 14 dogs, 8 of which are being run by a single handler, the NCA will consider the class to be a class of 10 (300 possible points to the winner), will omit the 4 lowest placing dogs run by that handler from the placings and will award only 300 points to the winner (a class of 14 would normally have 420 points for the winner).

Number of Nursery Dogs in National Finals At their April 8, 2015 meeting the NCA Board of Directors voted to allow 30 Nursery dogs to run in the National Finals. Note that this change will apply to the 2015 National Finals.

New NCA Video

NCA Receives $5,000 Grant

The NCA has received a $5,000 grant from the Georgene Hagar Memorial Donor Advised Endowment Fund of the Wyoming Community Foundation. The NCA was eligible to receive this grant because it is a 501(c)(3) non-profit.

The purpose of the grant is to support those portions of NCA activities that take place in Wyoming. In 2014, the NCA sanctioned 7 trials in Wyoming from January through August, sponsored a clinic in January to assist and educate ranchers and cattledog handlers in training and using cattledogs, and put on a two day demonstration at the Ag Expo in Cheyenne in September. All of these events, and more, are expected to occur in 2015.


The National Cattledog Association (NCA) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation. The NCA was incorporated in December of 2011 and began operations in January of 2012. Its members, which are from 31 states and Canada, are primarily ranchers, cattledog handlers and cattledog breeders. The NCA was founded to:

1. Educate ranchers as to the value of well trained cattledogs for humane, low stress cattle handling through demonstrations, clinics and public cattledog competitions (trials),

2. Assist ranchers in obtaining well trained cattledogs and in learning to use them for efficient, humane and low stress cattle handling,

3. Foster amateur athletic competition by sanctioning cattledog trials and hosting and managing a National Cattledog Association National Finals,

4. Assist members and other breeders in marketing cattledogs by providing venues for demonstrating the abilities of their dogs.

Scroll To Top