NCA Trial Sanctioning

NCA Sanctioning: The NCA sanctions three classes: Open, Nursery and Intermediate. The eligibility requirements for each class are described below.  It is not necessary for all NCA sanctioned classes to be offered in order to have the trial qualify for sanctioning.  Trials may also include additional non-sanctioned classes.  The qualifications for non-sanctioned classes are left up to the trial host.

Dates, locations and results of all sanctioned trials will be published on the NCA website.

Sanctioning Fees: The NCA charges a sanctioning fee of $4.00 for each dog run in a sanctioned class.  Note: Finals classes are not sanctioned classes.

NCA Calendar Year: The NCA qualifying year is April 1st – March 31st.

Qualifying Points: NCA members competing in NCA sanctioned trials will be eligible to earn points for their dog(s) toward qualification for the NCA National Cattledog Finals, which will be held in June of each year. Members are eligible to earn points beginning on the 1st day of their membership.

How are NCA points calculated?

The top 30% of dogs in a class will earn points. A class must have a minimum of 4 dogs. Point calculation example: 30 points are given for each dog in a class. A class with 8 dogs would be calculated as follows: 8 dogs x 30 points each = 240 total points for the class. The dog that placed 1st in this class will earn 240 points. You then subtract 100 points for each place thereafter until you can no longer subtract 100. So, 2nd place will earn 140 points and 3rd place will earn 40 points.

The trial host does not need to calculate these points. NCA qualifying points will be calculated at the NCA office when the trial results are received.

Event Insurance:  The NCA provides commercial general liability coverage for NCA sanctioned events. This insurance is written through Talisman Causality Insurance Co, LLC, Kennel Pro. If you would like to have your event/ facility listed as an additional insured on our policy, please contact the office with the event name, the facility address and the dates that coverage is needed. If you would like further information, please contact the NCA office. The current insurance policy can be found on the NCA website ( under “Administration”.

Sanctioned Classes:

Open:  Any dog of any age may compete in the Open class.

Any handler may compete in the Open class.  A handler who has competed in an NCA sanctioned Open class is no longer eligible to compete in the Intermediate class.

Nursery: Eligibility for the Nursery class is determined by the age of the dog. Dogs eligible to compete in sanctioned Nursery trials during the 2016-2017 qualifying year must have been born after October 1, 2014.

Intermediate: The Intermediate class is limited to handlers who are not competing in the Open class.  Any dog may compete in the Intermediate class.  An Intermediate handler may acquire a dog of any level at any time during the qualifying year and make that dog part of his/her Intermediate team. However, once a dog is part of an Intermediate team, it must, during that qualifying year, be run only by that handler to maintain the Intermediate eligibility of that team. The team may compete in any class, except Open, for which the dog is eligible.

Unlike in the Open and Nursery classes, where points are earned by the dog and may be transferred with the dog to a new owner or handler, in the Intermediate class points are awarded to the handler/dog team.

Other NCA rules:

Maximum number of NCA sanctioned classes per day:

The maximum number of NCA sanctioned classes per day is: 2 Open, 2 Nursery & 2 Intermediate classes.

Number of dogs per handler in a sanctioned class: A handler may enter as many dogs in an NCA sanctioned class as is allowed by the local trial host. However, only the top four (4) placing dogs in the class will be listed in the NCA posting of results and will count toward the number of NCA points available in the class.

For example, if in a sanctioned class there are 14 dogs, 8 of which are being run by a single handler, the NCA will consider the class to be a class of 10 (300 possible points to the winner), will omit the 4 lowest placing dogs run by that handler from the placings and will award only 300 points to the winner (a class of 14 would normally have 420 points for the winner).

What to do after your trial: Send the NCA office, via mail, email or fax, the placings for each sanctioned class. ( or, simply send a form of your own making. All that is necessary is that we have the handlers first & last name, the name of the dog that was run, the class and where they placed in the class. We do need this information for all handlers/dogs that run in a class, not just the handlers/dogs that placed.

Also, please let us know if you signed on any new NCA members during your trial so that we don’t miss giving them any NCA points that they may have earned.

Mail in your sanctioning fees: Sanctioning fees are $4.00 for each dog run in a sanctioned class.  

Mail in any new NCA memberships that were received during your trial.

NCA National Finals: The National Finals will be held in June of each year.

Handlers who are NCA members may earn points to qualify dogs for the National Finals in any NCA sanctioned trial held between April 1st and March 31st.

Regional Finals: Dates vary for each Region. Points for Regional Finals are accumulated starting from the day after the previous year’s Regional Finals to the day prior to the current year’s Regional Finals. Frequently, Regional Finals are held in conjunction with a sanctioned trial. If so, points earned in that trial will count toward qualifying for the following year Regional Finals.

Nursery dogs must be eligible to compete in sanctioned Nursery classes at the time of the Regional Finals in order to be eligible for the Regional Finals.

Intermediate teams must be eligible to compete in sanctioned Intermediate classes at the time of the Regional Finals in order to be eligible for the Regional Finals.

Print version

Scroll To Top